Insurer >


Filing Requirements for Surplus Lines Insurers

Insurance companies seeking to become eligible as surplus insurers must apply to become eligible under Sections 2-112, 3-318 and 6-203 of the Insurance Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland. Once eligible, companies are required to apply annualy with the Maryland Insurance Administration to maintain their eligibility. Companies are required to submit the following:

  • Application.
  • Certified copy of the most recent annual statement.
  • Certificate of Compliance from domiciliary jurisdiction.
  • Filing fee of $1,000 (non-refundable) and $1,000 Fraud Prevention Fee, made payable to the Maryland Insurance Administration.*

Companies desiring to be eligible as approved Surplus Lines Insurers in Maryland will file with the Maryland Insurance Administration the items listed above as well as the following:

  • An appointment of the Commissioner as agent for the acceptance of service of process.

* If your company is approved as an accredited reinsurer and a surplus line insurer, total payment due is $3,000.

Minimum financial requirement is policyholders’ surplus equal to the greater of the minimum capital and surplus required under the laws of the domiciliary jurisdiction or $15,000,000, effective July 1, 2011.

Filings and fees must be received on or before June 20 for annual renewal.

If you have any questions, contact Rena Moody at:

Maryland Insurance Administration
Company Licensing Unit
Phone:  410-468-2106
Fax:  410-468-2112

Documents and fees should be submitted to:

Maryland Insurance Administration
Company Licensing
200 St. Paul Place, Suite 2700
Baltimore, MD  21202