Filing Requirements for Provider-Sponsored Organizations
The Maryland Certificate of Authority for provider-sponsored organizations will expire on November 30. In accordance with § 19-721(b) of the Health General Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland and § 6-203 of the Insurance Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland, a company wishing to renew its Certificate of Authority will have the capability to renew online effective November 2013. All provider-sponsored organizations should renew their certificates of authority online.
The current certificate of authority must be renewed before the November 30 expiration date. The renewal process for provider-sponsored organizations can be completed online without attaching any certificates or other paperwork. This online process also will include the Workers’ Compensation Law Compliance Certification. You will be required to pay the annual fee totaling $1,025 using a Visa, MasterCard, or American Express credit card. There is no extra charge for renewing online. When you receive your credit card statement, the charge for renewing online will be shown as “Maryland Insurance Administration.”
How to Renew Your Certificate of Authority Online
Login to Online Company License Renewal
You will enter your User ID, which is your NAIC number, and the password that was provided previously to you. Each company is associated with a unique UserID/Password combination. The system will not allow you to renew more than one company using the same UserID/Password combination.
- If you fail to complete any portion of the renewal process, you will not be able to continue with your online renewal, and you will get an error message when you click on the “Continue” button. Use the “Back” button at the bottom of the online application page to go back to previous screens and renew information; do not use the “Back” button on your browser toolbar.
- Before submitting your credit card information, be sure you review all the screens to ensure that the information is correct. Use the “Back” button at the bottom of the online application page to review previous screens; do not use the “Back” button on your browser toolbar.
- Please be sure to print the confirmation screen for your records. This will be your proof of renewal.
- Your total fee contains the annual renewal fee of $25 (non-refundable) and the $1,000 Fraud Fee Assessment.
Unable to Renew Your Certificate of Authority Online?
All insurers are expected to utilize the online company licensing renewal process. However, if there are extenuating circumstances that will not allow you to renew online, you will be allowed to renew your certificate of authority by submitting a paper application. Click on each of the links below to download the application and required Certificate of Compliance.
Paper application should be mailed with a check for the appropriate fees made payable to the “Maryland Insurance Administration.” Renewal application packages should be sent to:
Maryland Insurance Administration
ATTN: Company Licensing Unit
200 St. Paul Place, Suite 2700
Baltimore, MD 21202
An insurer may submit its renewal application any time between November 1 and November 30, but the new certificate of authority may not be mailed until the last week of November.
If you have questions or need help with this license renewal process, please contact: