Insurer >


Filing Requirements for Motor Clubs

 

License Renewal

 

Maryland licenses for all motor clubs will expire on December 31. In accordance with Title 26, Subtitles 2 and 3 of the Insurance Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland, motor clubs wishing to renew their license will have the capability to renew on-line effective December 2013.  All motor clubs should renew their licenses online.

The current license must be renewed before the December 31 expiration date. The payment process can be completed online. The online process also will include the Workers’ Compensation Law Compliance Certification. You will be required to pay the annual fee totaling $100 using a Visa, MasterCard, or American Express credit card. There is no extra charge for renewing online. When you receive your credit card statement, the charge for renewing online will be shown as “Maryland Insurance Administration.”  

How to Renew Your License Online

Login to Online Company License Renewal

You will enter your User ID, which is your NAIC number, and your password that was provided previously to you.  Each company is associated with a unique UserID/Password combination.  The system will not allow you to renew more than one company using the same UserID/Password combination.

  • If you fail to complete any portion of the renewal process, you will not be able to continue with your online renewal, and you will get an error message when you click on the “Continue” button. Use the “Back” button at the bottom of the online application page to go back to previous screens and renew information; do not use the “Back” button on your browser toolbar.
  • The annual renewal fee is $100 (non-refundable).  Before submitting your credit card information, be sure you review all the screens to ensure that the information is correct. Use the “Back” button at the bottom of the online application page to review previous screens; do not use the “Back” button on your browser toolbar.
  • Please be sure to print the confirmation screen for your records. This will be your proof of renewal.

Unable to Renew Your License Online?

All insurers are expected to utilize the online company licensing renewal process. However, if there are extenuating circumstances that will not allow you to renew online, you will be allowed to renew your license by submitting a paper application. Click on the link below to download the application and required Certificate of Compliance.

Application for Insurer's License

The paper application should be mailed with a check for the $100 annual renewal fee made payable to the “Maryland Insurance Administration.” Renewal application packages should be sent to:

Maryland Insurance Administration
ATTN:  Company Licensing Unit
200 St. Paul Place, Suite 2700
Baltimore, MD  21202

In addition to completing the online renewal process, the applicant must submit the following:

A copy of the latest annual or fiscal year financial statement certified by a certified public accountant within the previous six months. The minimum financial requirement is capital stock totaling $5,000 plus policyholder surplus totaling $10,000.

If a financial statement is prepared on a countrywide basis, include a statement showing the amount of membership dues or fees collected from Maryland residents during the preceding fiscal year.

  • A current list of the names and addresses of all officers and directors along with biographical affidavits for all new officers and directors.
  • A Certificate of Continuation from the surety company if a bond is currently on file with the Maryland Insurance Administration.

An insurer may submit its renewal application any time between December 1 and December 31, but the new license may not be mailed until the last week of December.

If you have questions or need help with this license renewal process, please contact Glenda Manning at 410-468-2137.

Application for a New License

 

Motor Clubs seeking a license to transact business in the State of Maryland shall complete and submit the following:

  • Application for Motor Club License and evidence of compliance with Maryland’s Workers’ Compensation Law Compliance Certification as required under Title 9 of the Labor and Employment Article.
  • A copy of the latest annual or fiscal year financial statement certified by a certified public accountant within the previous six months. Such financial statement should reflect that the motor club meets Maryland’s minimum capital stock requirement of $5,000 and minimum surplus requirement of $10,000.

If a financial statement is prepared on a countrywide basis, include a statement showing the amount of membership dues or fees collected from Maryland residents during the preceding fiscal year.

  • A copy of the applicant’s service contract as described in Section 26-204 of the Insurance Article.
  • Evidence of security in accordance with Section 26-204 of the Insurance Article.
  • An appointment of the Commissioner as attorney for the acceptance of service of process.
  • The names, addresses and titles of each individual the motor club desires to appoint as representatives, along with evidence that the representatives have submitted a Maryland Motor Club Representative Registration form.
  • An application fee of $200 (non-refundable) made payable to the Maryland Insurance Administration.

If the applicant is a corporation:

  • A certificate of good standing from the Department of Assessments and Taxation.
  • A certified copy of the motor club articles of incorporation and amendments.
  • A copy of the by-laws with all amendments, duly certified by the corporate secretary.
  • The names and addresses of the officers and directors of the corporation.
  • The names and addresses of each owner of more than 10% of the capital stock of the corporation issued and outstanding.
  • Biographical affidavits and disclosure authorizations shall be submitted for principal management and for any person who is or will be directly or indirectly the beneficial owner of more than five percent (5%) of the capital stock of the corporation issued and outstanding.

If the applicant is not a corporation:

  • A list of the names and addresses of all officers and directors, along with biographical affidavits and disclosure authorizations for each.
  • A list of the parties to any operating or management agreement that affects the applicant, together with a copy of the agreement.

If you have any questions or need help with the license application process, please contact Conrad Ragone at 410-468-2156.

Documents and fees should be submitted to:

Maryland Insurance Administration
ATTN: Company Licensing Unit
200 St. Paul Place, Suite 2700
Baltimore, MD  21202