Home Page >
Fees Charged for Public Information Act Responses
According to the Code of Maryland Regulations, the Maryland Insurance Administration is permitted to charge the following fees to respond to your Public Information Act request:
Copies are 20 cents per page if reproduction is made by a photocopy machine within the Insurance Administration. If records are not able to be photocopied (i.e. magnetic tape, blueprints, microfilm and punch cards), the fee for copies is based on the actual cost of reproduction. If information is burned onto a compact disc, a flat fee of $5 is charged.
If the total amount of the fee is less than $5, there is no charge.
The Insurance Administration may charge reasonable fees for staff time expended searching for requested records or for any time expended preparing records for inspection or copying. The first two hours expended are not charged.
Before we send the records to you, we will send you an invoice and ask you to remit your payment. As soon as we receive your payment, we will provide the releasable records you requested.