MARYLAND INSURANCE * BEFORE THE
ADMINISTRATION *
200 ST. PAUL PLACE, SUITE 2700 - * MARYLAND INSURANCE
BALTIMORE, MARYLAND 21202 * COMMISSIONER
*
vs. *
HANOVER FIRE & CASUALTY *
INSURANCE COMPANY *
(NAIC #17337) * CASE NO.: MIA-2012-09-036
P.O. Box 4001 *
Plymouth Meeting, PA 19462 *

ORDER

This Order is entered by the Maryland Insurance Administration
(“Administration”) against Hanover Fire & Casualty Insurance Company, (“Hanover
Fire”), pursuant to §§ 2-108 and 2-204 of the Insurance Article, Maryland Code

‘Annotated (2011 Repl. Vol.). Hanover Fire has the right to request a hearing regarding

the above violation under § 2-210 of the Insurance Article.
l. Facts

1. Hanover Fire, at all times relevant to this Order, has held and currently holds a

certificate of authority from the Maryland Insurance Administration to operate as an

insurer.

2. Section 30-102 of the Insurance Article required an insurer authorized to do
business in the State to provide the Insurance Commissioner, on or before October 1,
2011, with: (1) a report of information in the records of the insurer about each
slaveholder insurance policy issued in the State by the insurer, or any predecessor of
the insurer, during the “slavery era”; and (2) a copy of each-document in the insurer’s

records that related to the information.



3. Code of Maryland Regulations Section 31.16.09.04 specified the format and
content of the report required under § 30-102.

4. On December 18, 2009, the Administration issued Bulletin 09-32 to clarify that all
authorized insurers doing business in Maryland would be required to submit a report
even if the company or its predecessor company was not in existence during the slavery
era. ' |

5. On May 12, 2012, the Administration issued Bulletin 12-08 as a reminder that all
authorized insurers were required to submit a report pursuant to § 30-102. An insurer
that failed to comply with the reporting requirement would be subject to appropriate
‘enforcement action, including, but not limited to, the aséessment of a monetary penalty.

6. Hanover Fire failed to submit the required report.

Il. Violations

In addition to all other relevant sections of the Insurance Article, .the_
Administration relies on the following pertinent sections in finding that Hanover Fire

violated Maryland’s insurance laws:

7. Section 30-102 of the Insurance Article provides in pertinent part:

(a) Requirements. -- On or before October 1, 2011, an insurer authorized to do
business in the State shall provide the Commissioner with:

(1) a report of information in the records of the insurer about each slaveholder
‘insurance policy issued in the State by the insurer, or any predecessor of the
insurer, during the slavery era; and

(2) a copy of each document in the insurer's records that relates to the
information provided under item (1) of this subsection.

8. Section 31.16.09 of the Code of Maryland Regulations (‘COMAR?”) provides in
pertinent part:



.07 Enforcement.

The Commissioner may impose on an insurer any penalty, sanction, or other
form of legal enforcement which the Commissioner has the authority to impose
for failure to comply with the provisions of this chapter.

9. Section 4-113 of the Insurance Article provides in pertinent part:

(d) Penalty. -- Instead of or in addition to suspending or revoking a certificate of
authority, the Commissioner may:

(1) impose on the holder a penalty of not less than $100 but not more than
$125,000 for each violation of this article;

10. By the conduct described herein, Hanover Fire violated § 30-102 of the
Insurance Article. As such, Hanover Fire is subject to disciplinary action under the

Insurance Article § 4-113(d) and COMAR 31.16.09.07.

lll. Sanctions

11.  WHEREFORE, for the reasons set forth above, and subject to your right to
request a hearing, it is this 24th day of September, 2012, ORDERED, that:

A. Pursuant to § 4-113(d) of the Insurance Article, based on consideration of
COMAR 31.02.04.02, within thirty (30) days of the date of this Order, Hanover
Fire shall pay an administrative penalty in the amount of $3,000 for violation of §
30-102 of the Insurance Article. |

B. Within thirty (30) days of the date of this Order, Hanover Fire shall submit the
report and documents required by § 30-102 in the format set out in COMAR
31.16.09.04 to the Commissioner. The report and documents shall be sent to the
attention of: Government Relations Department, 200 St. Paul Place, Suite 2700,
Baltimore, Maryland 21202. Failure to submit the required report and documents
within thirty (30) days of the date of this Order will result in additional penalties in
the amount of $100 per day assessed begihning on the 31 day from the date of
this Order.



12.  Administrative penalties shall be made payable to the Maryland Insurance
Administration and shall identify the case by number or name. Unpaid penalties will be
referred to the Central Collection Unit for collections. Payment of the administrative
penalty shall be sent to the attention of: Associate Commissioner, Compliance and
Enforcement, 200 St. Paul Place, Suite 2700, Baltimore, MD 21202.

THERESE M. GOLDSMITH
INSURANCE COMMISSIONER

Signature on file with

original
By: g

Thomas L. Marshl, Assogiate Commissioner
Compliance & Enforcement



RIGHT TO REQUEST A HEARING

Pursuant to § 2-210 and COMAR 31.02.01.03, you may request a hearing on this
Order. This request must be in writing and be received by the Commissioner within
thirty (30) days of the date of the letter accompanying this Order.

Pursuant to § 2-212 of the Insurance Article, however, the Order shall be stayed_
pending a hearing only if a demand for hearing is received by the Commissioner within

ten (10) days after the Order is served.

The request for hearing must be made in writing. The request must be addressed to the
Maryland Insurance Administration, 200 St. Paul Place, Suite 2700, Baltimore, Maryland
21202, ATTN: Sharon Kraus, Appeals Clerk. Failure to request a hearing timely or to
appear at a scheduled hearing will result in a waiver of your rights to contest this Order
and the Order shall be final on its effective date. Should you request a hearing, the

hearing officer may reduce, increase, or affirm the penalty amount sought by the
Commissioner.

Pursuant to Insurance Article § 4-113(b)(2), failure to comply with the terms of this

Order may result in further administrative action including additional fines and the

suspension or revocation of your certificate of authority.





