Requirements for Mechanical Repair Contract Obligors

In accordance with §15-311.2(c) of the Transportation Article, Annotated Code of Maryland, and §2- 112(a)(11) of the Insurance Article, Annotated Code of Maryland, an Obligor must register to sell mechanical repair contracts.

For initial registration, obligors are required to submit the following:

  • Mechanical Repair Contract Obligor Application
  • A policy of insurance providing coverage for all obligations and liabilities incurred under the terms of a mechanical repair contract
  • An application fee of $25 (non-refundable) made payable toMaryland Insurance Administration

For renewal registration, obligors are required to submit the following:

 

If you have any questions regarding the registration process contact:

Maryland Insurance Administration
Company Licensing Unit
Phone:  410-468-2104
Fax:410-468-2112

Email: colicensing.mia@maryland.gov

Documents and Fees should be submitted to:

Maryland Insurance Administration
Company Licensing
200 St. Paul Place, Suite 2700
Baltimore, MD 21202

In addition, pursuant to §15-311.2(b)(4)(i) of the Transportation Article, Annotated Code of Maryland, and §2-112(A)(9) of the Insurance Article, Annotated Code of Maryland, an Obligor must file a mechanical repair contract with the Maryland Insurance Administration at least 45 days before offering it for sale.

The obligor has the following options:

  • The obligor may file the contract through SERFF (System for Electronic Rate and Form Filing), an application managed by the NAIC (National Association of Insurance Commissioners).
  • The mechanical repaid contract shall meet the requirements of Subtitle 15-311.2 of the Transportation Article, Annotated Code of Maryland.
  • The obligor shall pay a filing fee of $125 per mechanical repaid contract through the SERFF application.
  • ​If the obligor is unable to file the contract through SERFF, the obligor may submit a paper filing to the Property and Casualty Rates and Forms Unit of the Maryland Insurance Administration, along with a $125 filing fee per mechanical repair contract made payable to the ​Maryland Insurance Administration. Failure to enclose the $125 filing fee will result in a rejection of the contract form.
  • For obligors who have previously filed contract(s) which have been approved prior to the October 1, 2015 effective date of the Act, (see Chapter 444, Acts of 2015) please provide the SERFF tracking number along with contact information for review.

If you have any questions regarding the contract review process, contact Ronald Coleman at:

Maryland Insurance Administration
Property and Casualty Rates and Forms Unit
Phone: 410-468-2310
Email: Ronald.Coleman@maryland.gov

Documents and filing fees should be submitted to:

Maryland Insurance Administration
Property and Casualty Rates and Forms
200 St. Paul Place, Suite 2700
Baltimore, MD 21202

​​​​​​