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2014 INSURANCE LEGISLATION 
 
LIFE AND HEALTH 
 
HOUSE BILL 106 (Chapter 84) – Senior Prescription Drug Assistance Program – Sunset 
Extension  

 
• Extends until the end of December 31, 2016, the termination date of and the subsidies 

offered to enrollees of the Senior Prescription Drug Assistance Program under §14-106 of 
the Insurance Article.  

 
Effective Date: October 1, 2014 
 
HOUSE BILL 625 (Chapter 68) /SENATE BILL 641 (Chapter 67) – Kathleen A. Mathias 
Oral Chemotherapy Improvement Act of 2014 
 

• Repeal the exception that applied to health benefit plans that provide essential health 
benefits under § 1302(a) of the Affordable Care Act (ACA).  The result is that all health 
benefit plans issued in Maryland, including individual and small employer health benefit 
plans issued. delivered or renewed in Maryland on or after January 1, 2015, are 
prohibited from imposing cost-sharing requirements on coverage for orally administered 
chemotherapy that are less favorable to an insured or enrollee than the cost-sharing 
requirements that apply to coverage for chemotherapy that is administered intravenously 
or by injection.  
 

Effective Date: April 8, 2014 
 
HOUSE BILL 693 (Chapter 610) – Health Insurance – Essential Health Benefits – 
Pediatric Dental Benefits  
 

• Establishes an exemption from the requirement to provide pediatric dental essential 
health benefits in a health benefit plan offered outside the Maryland Health Benefit 
Exchange (Exchange).   
 

• Establishes parameters for the exemption.  To be exempt, a carrier is required to: (1) 
disclose that the health benefit plan does not provide the pediatric dental essential health 
benefits; and (2) be reasonably assured that the enrollee has obtained full coverage of 
pediatric dental essential health benefits through a stand-alone dental plan certified by the 
Exchange.   
 

• Establishes requirements for the stand-alone dental plan sold off the Exchange to be 
certified by the Exchange.  To be certified, a stand-alone dental plan contract must be 
reviewed and approved by the Maryland Insurance Administration (MIA) and meet 
certain requirements.  The requirements include that the stand-alone dental plan: (1) 
covers the pediatric dental essential health benefits; (2) complies with annual limits and 
lifetime limits applicable to essential health benefits; (3) complies with annual limits on 
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cost sharing applicable to stand-alone dental plans under federal law; and (4) meets the 
same actuarial value requirement for the pediatric dental essential health benefits that is 
required for a qualified dental plan.  

 
• Requires the MIA to post on its website a list of the Exchange certified stand-alone dental 

plans in the State.  
 

Effective Date: May l5, 2014 
 
HOUSE BILL 761 (Chapter 422) – Health Insurance – Specialty Drugs  
 

• Prohibits carriers that provide coverage for prescription drugs under individual, group or 
blanket health insurance contracts from imposing a copayment or coinsurance 
requirement on a covered specialty drug that exceeds $150 for a 30-day supply. 
 

• Defines “specialty drug” as a prescription drug that: (1) is prescribed for an individual 
with a complex or chronic medical condition or a rare medical condition; (2) costs $600 
or more for up to a 30-day supply; (3) is not typically stocked at retail pharmacies; and 
(4) requires a difficult or unusual process of delivery to the patient in the preparation, 
handling, storage, inventory, or distribution of the drug or requires enhanced patient 
education, management, or support, beyond those required for traditional dispensing, 
before or after administration of the drug. 
 

• Provides for an annual increase to the permissible maximum copayment or coinsurance to 
reflect medical care inflation.  
 

• Provides that a determination by a carrier that a prescription drug is not a specialty drug 
is considered a coverage decision for purposes of an appeal.  If a carrier determines that a 
prescription drug is not a specialty drug on the basis that it is not prescribed for an 
individual with a complex or chronic medical condition or a rare medical condition, the 
Insurance Commissioner may seek advice from an independent review organization or 
medical expert at the expense of the carrier. 
 

• Permits a carrier to provide coverage for specialty drugs through a managed care system. 
 

• Specifies that a carrier is not precluded from requiring a covered specialty drug to be 
obtained through a designated pharmacy or other authorized source or a pharmacy 
participating in the carrier’s network, if the pharmacy meets certain performance 
standards and accepts the carrier’s network reimbursement. 
 

• Applies to policies, contracts, and health benefit plans issued, delivered or renewed in 
Maryland on and after January 1, 2016. 
 

Effective Date: October 1, 2014 
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HOUSE BILL 779 (Chapter 614) – Maryland Health Care Commission – Health Care 
Provider - Carrier Workgroup  

 
• Requires the Maryland Health Care Commission (MHCC) to establish a Health Care 

Provider-Carrier Workgroup to provide a mechanism for health care providers and 
carriers to resolve disputes on issues over which no State agency has statutory or 
regulatory authority.  By January 1, 2016, and each year thereafter, MHCC staff is 
required to submit a report to MHCC and the General Assembly.  MHCC staff is 
required, at least annually, to solicit issues for consideration by the Workgroup from 
specified sources including members of the General Assembly and the MIA. 

 
Effective Date: October 1, 2014  
 
HOUSE BILL 806 (Chapter 615) – Health Information Exchanges – Protected Health 
Information – Regulations  
 

• Requires the MHCC to adopt regulations regarding protected health information (PHI) 
obtained or released through a health information exchange to govern the access, use, 
maintenance, disclosure, and redisclosure of PHI as required by State or federal law, 
including the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) and the 
Health Information Technology for Economic and Clinical Health Act. 

 
Effective Date: October 1, 2014 
 
HOUSE BILL 856 (Chapter 259) /SENATE BILL 592 (Chapter 181) – Workgroup on 
Workforce Development for Community Health Workers 
 

• Require the Department of Health and Mental Hygiene (DHMH) and the MIA to jointly 
establish a Workgroup on Workforce Development for Community Health Workers 
(CHW).   

 
• Require the Workgroup to study and make recommendations regarding: (1) the training 

and credentialing required for CHWs to be certified as nonclinical health care providers; 
and (2) reimbursement and payment policies for CHWs through Medicaid and private 
insurers. 

 
Effective Date: June 1, 2014 
 
HOUSE BILL 1233 (Chapter 317) – Health Insurance – Step Therapy or Fail-First 
Protocol  
 

• Requires the MHCC to work with payors and providers to attain benchmarks for 
overriding a payor’s step therapy or fail-first protocol for prescription drugs. 
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• Requires payors who require a step therapy or fail-first protocol for prescription drugs  to 
establish a process for a provider to override the step therapy or fail-first protocol by July 
1, 2015. 
 

• Prohibits a step therapy or fail-first protocol for prescription drugs from being imposed if 
the step therapy drug has not been approved by the FDA for the medical condition being 
treated (i.e., off-label use) or a prescriber provides supporting medical information to the 
carrier or pharmacy benefit manager (PBM) that a prescription drug covered by the 
carrier or PBM: (1) was ordered for the insured or enrollee within the past 180 days; and 
(2) based on the professional judgment of the prescriber, was effective in treating the 
insured’s or enrollee’s medical condition. 

 
Effective Date: July 1, 2014 
 
SENATE BILL 96 (Chapter 23) – Health Insurance – Conformity with and 
Implementation of the Federal Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act  
 

• Establishes initial permit, permit renewal, and permit reinstatement fees for a SHOP 
Exchange enrollment permit. 

 
• Clarifies the Insurance Commissioner’s authority to enforce the guaranteed availability of 

coverage requirements of the ACA.  
 

• Repeals conversion requirements for dependent spouses of employees covered under 
group and blanket health insurance contracts.  Repeals obsolete references to conversion 
rights. 
 

• Revises the wellness program requirements to be consistent with federal regulations (45 
CFR § 146.121).  
 

• Authorizes carriers for those individual policies sold on the Exchange that receive 
advance premium tax credits to suspend review of a claim until premiums are paid if a 
policy is in the second or third month of a grace period.   
 

• Applies various small employer special enrollment provisions for placement of a foster 
child with an individual. 
 

• Adds new triggering events for special enrollment periods for employees of small 
employers in the following circumstances: (1) When the SHOP Exchange or one of its 
employees or agents makes an error or misrepresentation affecting the enrollment or non-
enrollment of an employee or dependent; and (2) For an employee who is an Indian as 
defined in the federal Indian Health Care Improvement Act. 
 

• Repeals provisions in small employer coverage requirements that are inconsistent with 
the ACA’s guarantee availability requirement, including requiring part-time employees to 
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have been continuously employed for at least four months before being offered coverage 
and permitting an employer to not offer coverage to employees with other coverage. 
 

• Amends the definition of “eligible individual” for individual health benefit plans by no 
longer requiring an eligible individual to have creditable coverage.  
 

• Repeals carrier reporting requirement regarding declinations of coverage in the individual 
market and repeals the requirement that carriers provide notice to declined individuals of 
the Maryland Health Insurance Plan (MHIP).  
 

• Amends the dates for annual open enrollment in the individual market to conform with 
new federal open enrollment dates.  
 

• Adds new special enrollment period triggering events in the individual market: (1) for 
placement of a foster child with an individual; (2) when an individual enrolled in an 
employer-sponsored plan is determined newly eligible for advance payments of premium 
tax credits; and (3) when an individual was not enrolled in a qualified health plan due to 
misconduct of a non-Exchange entity providing enrollment assistance or conducting 
enrollment activities. 
 

• Revises the definition of creditable coverage to comply with the definition in HIPAA by 
adding Title XXI of the Social Security Act as creditable coverage. 
 

Effective Date: July 1, 2014 
 
SENATE BILL 98 (Chapter 25) – Health Insurance – Medicare Marketing Rules 
 

• Clarifies the Insurance Commissioner’s authority to enforce prohibitions of certain 
marketing activities when soliciting or advertising the sale of a Medicare Advantage 
Plan, Medicare Advantage Prescription Drug Plan, Medicare Prescription Drug Plan (Part 
D), or Medicare Section 1876 Cost Plan, including door-to-door solicitation approaching 
Medicare beneficiaries in common areas, and telephone or electronic solicitation.  Failure 
to comply may subject an insurance producer to action pursuant to §10-126 of the 
Insurance Article. 

 
Effective Date: October 1, 2014 
 
SENATE BILL 134 (Chapter 1) – Maryland Health Insurance Plan – Access for Bridge 
Eligible Individuals  
 

• Provides access to health benefits for a “bridge-eligible individual” through MHIP on a 
prospective basis, as well as on a retroactive basis, beginning no earlier than January 1, 
2014. 

 
• Defines a “bridge-eligible individual” as an individual who was eligible for enrollment 

through the Exchange and provided evidence that the individual had attempted to obtain 
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insurance through the Exchange and was unsuccessful in enrolling in coverage.  A 
“bridge-eligible individual” does not include those eligible for Medicare, Medicaid, the 
Maryland Children’s Health Program, or an employer-sponsored group health insurance 
plan that included comparable benefits.  
 

• Repeals a requirement that enrollment in MHIP be closed as of December 31, 2013. 
Provides that enrollment in MHIP will be closed to any “bridge-eligible individual” who 
has not applied for enrollment in MHIP by March 31, 2014. 
 

• Provides that enrollment of a bridge-eligible individual terminates on the effective date of 
enrollment in a qualified health plan through MHBE.   

 
Effective Date: This emergency legislation took effect January 30, 2014 and remains in 
effect through June 30, 2015. 
 
SENATE BILL 416 (Chapter 163) – Health Maintenance Organizations – Payments to 
Nonparticipating Providers – Repeal of Termination Date 
 

• Repeals the termination date on provisions of law that require health maintenance 
organizations (HMOs) to pay specified rates for a covered service rendered to an HMO 
enrollee by noncontracting health care providers. 

 
Effective Date: October 1, 2014 
 
SENATE BILL 790 (Chapter 72) – Health Insurance – Communications Between Carriers 
and Enrollees – Conformity with the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act 
(HIPAA)  
 

• Requires the Insurance Commissioner to develop and make available a standardized form 
for an enrollee to use to request confidential communications from an insurer, nonprofit 
health service plan, health maintenance organization, or dental plan organization.  A 
carrier that requires an enrollee to make a request for confidential communications in 
writing must accept the standardized form. 

 
• Permits a carrier to accept any other form of written request from an enrollee for 

confidential communications from a carrier under the HIPAA privacy rule. 
 

• Specifies that certain written notices from an insurer to a claimant regarding denial of a 
claim made under an individual health insurance policy and annual summary 
explanations of benefits provided to an insured are subject to confidential 
communications requirements under the HIPAA privacy rule. 

 
Effective Date: April 8, 2014 
 
 

7 
 



SENATE BILL 884 (Chapter 204) – Health Insurance – Incentives for Health Care 
Practitioners 
 

• Alters the circumstances under § 15-113 of the Insurance Article in which an insurer, 
nonprofit health service plan, health maintenance organization (HMO), or dental plan 
organization (carriers) may provide bonuses or other incentive-based compensation to a 
health care practitioner or to a set of health care practitioners. 

 
• Provides that a bonus or other incentive-based compensation: (1) shall promote the 

provision of preventive health care services; or (2) may reward a health care practitioner 
or a set of health care practitioners based on satisfaction of performance measures, if the 
following is agreed to in writing: (a) the performance measures; (b) the method for 
calculating whether the performance measures are met; and (c) the method for requesting 
reconsideration by the health care practitioner or set of health care practitioners of the 
calculations by the carrier. 
 

• Provides that acceptance of a bonus or other incentive-based compensation is required to 
be voluntary.  A carrier may not require a health care practitioner or a set of health care 
practitioners to participate in the carrier’s bonus or other incentive-based compensation 
program as a condition of network participation. 
 

• Provides that a health care practitioner, a set of health care practitioners, or a designee 
may file a complaint with the MIA regarding a violation of § 15-113 of the Insurance 
Article. 

 
Effective Date: October 1, 2014 
 
SENATE BILL 893 (Chapter 355) – Health Insurance – Insurance Laws That Apply to 
Health Maintenance Organizations – Consolidation and Clarification 
 

• Clarifies that, except as otherwise provided in Title 19, Subtitle 7 of the Health-General 
Article or expressly provided in the Insurance Article, an HMO is not subject to the 
insurance laws of the State.  The bill repeals multiple cross-references in § 19-706 of the 
Health-General Article that are no longer necessary since express references to HMOs 
already are found in the Insurance Article. 

 
Effective Date: June 1, 2014 
 
SENATE BILL 952 (Chapter 363) – Pharmacy Benefits Managers – Pharmacy Contracts – 
Maximum Allowable Cost Pricing 
 

• Requires a pharmacy benefits manager (PBM) to include the sources used to determine 
“maximum allowable cost” (MAC) pricing in each contract with a “contracted 
pharmacy.” 
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• Defines “maximum allowable cost” as the maximum amount that a PBM or a purchaser 
will reimburse a contracted pharmacy for the cost of a multisource generic drug, a 
medical product, or a device.  
 

• Defines “maximum allowable cost list” as a list of multisource generic drugs, medical 
products, and devices for which a MAC has been established by a PBM or a purchaser. 
 

• Requires a PBM to update pricing information at least every seven days and to provide a 
means for contracted pharmacies to promptly review pricing updates. 
 

• Requires a PBM to ensure that a drug meets specified criteria before placing a 
prescription drug on a MAC list. 

 
• Requires a PBM to maintain a procedure to eliminate products from any MAC list. 

 
• Requires that each contract between a PBM and a contracted pharmacy must include a 

process to appeal, investigate, and resolve disputes regarding MAC pricing. 
 

• Requires that, if an appeal is upheld, a PBM must make the change in the MAC no later 
than one business day after the date of determination on the appeal and permit the 
appealing contracting pharmacy to reverse and rebill the claim and any subsequent 
similar claims. 
 

Effective Date: January 1, 2015 
 
PROPERTY AND CASUALTY 
 
HOUSE BILL 679 (Chapter 319) /SENATE BILL 624 (Chapter 318) – Insurance – Title 
Insurers – Title Insurance Commitment and Binders  
 

• Establishes that a title insurance commitment or sample policy form is: (1) a written 
statement of the terms and conditions on which a title insurer is willing to issue a policy 
of title insurance if it accepts a premium; (2) is not a representation as to the state of title; 
and (3) does not constitute an abstract of title.   

 
• Alters specified information that a title insurer is required to include in specified 

disclosures.  Requires a specified title insurance commitment or sample form to contain a 
specified statement: 
 

“THIS DOCUMENT CONSTITUTES A STATEMENT OF THE TERMS AND 
CONDITIONS ON WHICH A TITLE INSURER IS WILLING TO ISSUE A POLICY OF 
TITLE INSURANCE IF THE TITLE INSURER ACCEPTS THE PREMIUM FOR THE 
POLICY. IT IS NOT A REPRESENTATION AS TO THE STATE OF TITLE AND DOES 
NOT CONSTITUTE AN ABSTRACT OF TITLE.”  
 

Effective Date: October 1, 2014 
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SENATE BILL 16 (Chapter 4) – Chesapeake Employers' Insurance Company – Issuance, 
Renewal, and Cancellation of Policies – Authority  
 

• Expands Chesapeake Employers’ Insurance Company’s (Chesapeake) authority to issue 
policies for employer’s liability insurance and insurance under a federal compensation 
law. 

 
• Adds additional grounds for a cancellation or nonrenewal of a Chesapeake workers’ 

compensation policy for failure of an employer to reimburse Chesapeake for payment of 
a deductible. 
  

Effective Date: April 8, 2014 
 
SENATE BILL 53 (Chapter 9) – Maryland Automobile Insurance Fund – Installment 
Payment Plan  
 

• Permits the Maryland Automobile Insurance Fund (Fund) to discriminate among insureds 
by charging a different premium for those insureds who select to pay their premium in 
full versus those insureds who select, as a payment option, the Fund’s installment plan or 
an installment plan offered through a premium finance company.  
 

Effective Date: April 8, 2014 
 
SENATE BILL 79 (Chapter 15) – Limited Lines – Travel Insurance  
 

• Alters provisions of law relating to limited lines insurance for transportation tickets to 
relate instead to limited lines travel insurance. 
 

• Defines “travel insurance” as insurance coverage for personal risk incident to planned 
travel, including: (1) interruption or cancellation of a trip or an event; (2) loss of baggage 
or personal effects; (3) damage to accommodations or a rental vehicle; or (4) sickness, 
accident, disability, or death occurring during travel, if issued as incidental to other 
coverage listed in (1), (2) or (3).  “Travel insurance” does not include a major medical 
plan that provides comprehensive medical protection for a traveler on a trip lasting six 
months or longer, such as an individual working outside the United States or military 
personnel being deployed. 

 
• Authorizes the Insurance Commissioner to issue a limited lines travel insurance 

producer’s license to an individual or a business entity to sell travel insurance.  A limited 
lines travel insurance producer may be: (1) a licensed managing general agent or third-
party administrator, or (2) a licensed insurance producer or limited lines insurance 
producer. 
 

• Authorizes a travel retailer to offer and disseminate travel insurance under the direction 
of a limited lines travel insurance producer if certain requirements are met.  Those 
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requirements include providing to the purchaser of travel insurance: (1) a description of 
the material terms of coverage, process for filing claims, and description of cancellation 
of coverage; (2) a disclosure that the offered coverage may duplicate coverage  provided 
by the purchaser’s other insurance already in force and the travel insurance would be 
primary to any other duplicate or similar coverage; (3) the identity and contact 
information of the insurer and producer offering coverage; and (4) contact information 
for filing a complaint with the MIA.  
 

• Requires the limited lines travel insurance producer to establish and maintain a register of 
each travel retailer that offers and disseminates travel insurance on the producer’s behalf 
and requires each employee or authorized representative of the travel retailer whose 
duties include offering and disseminating travel insurance to receive a program of 
instruction or training which is subject to review by the Insurance Commissioner.  
 

• Requires the travel retailer to make available to a prospective customer written materials 
that: 1) provide the identity and contact information of the limited lines travel insurance 
producer overseeing the activities of the travel retailer; (2) explain that the purchase of 
travel insurance is not required in order to purchase any other product or service from the 
travel retailer; and (3) explain that a travel retailer is allowed to provide general 
information about the insurance offered and disseminated by the travel retailer, including 
a description of coverage and the price, but is not qualified or authorized to answer 
technical questions about the insurance terms and conditions or to evaluate the adequacy 
of the customer’s existing insurance coverage. 
 

• Permits payment of compensation to a travel retailer or its employees or authorized 
representatives for activities under the limited lines travel insurance producer’s license 
that are incidental to the overall compensation of the travel retailer, or its employees, or 
authorized representative.  Compensation may not be based primarily on the number of 
customers who purchase travel insurance coverage.  
 

• Requires the MIA to track the number of complaints filed by consumers regarding travel 
insurance offered by travel retailers and employees and authorized representatives of 
travel retailers, and based on the complaint data and any other information the Insurance 
Commissioner determines necessary, to determine how and whether travel retailers and 
employees and authorized representatives should be compensated.  The report of the 
Insurance Commissioner’s findings and recommendations is due to certain committees of 
the General Assembly by January 1, 2017. 

 
Effective Date: October 1, 2014 
 
SENATE BILL 100 (Chapter 27) – Insurance – Premiums and Charges – Review of 
Administrative Expenses 
 

• Requires the Insurance Commissioner, when reviewing administrative expenses 
submitted by an authorized insurer that are associated with late payments or installment 
payments, to include in the review the cost incurred by an authorized insurer or a vendor 
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of the authorized insurer to accept late payments or installment payments by credit card, 
debit card, electronic funds transfer, or electronic check payment. 

 
Effective Date: October 1, 2014 
 
SENATE BILL 153 (Chapter 41) – Motor Vehicle Insurance – Task Force to Study 
Methods to Reduce the Rate of Uninsured Drivers 
 

• Establishes the Task Force to Study Methods to Reduce the Rate of Uninsured Drivers. 
 

• Requires the Task Force to study and make recommendations regarding: (1) the rate of 
uninsured drivers in the State and other states and the ways in which the rate is calculated 
by the Motor Vehicle Administration and other entities; ((2) the deterrents and incentives 
that are used in the State and in other states, or that could be used in the State, to reduce 
the rate of uninsured drivers; and (3) methods to lower the cost of insurance as a way to 
reduce the rate of uninsured drivers and promote economic and job opportunities 
associated with vehicle ownership. 

 
Effective Date: April 8, 2014 
 
SENATE BILL 221 (Chapter 146) – Farm Area Motor Vehicles – Registration and 
Authorized Use 
 

• Increases from 10 to 25 miles the radius from a farm within which a person may operate 
on a highway a vehicle registered as a farm area motor vehicle. 
 

• Requires an applicant for registration of a farm area motor vehicle to submit with the 
application federal tax documentation of active farming status. 

 
Effective Date: April 14, 2014 
 
SENATE BILL 456 (Chapter 169) – Insurance – Definition of Premium – Inclusion of 
Motor Vehicle Driving Record Report and Accident History Report Fees  
 

• Expands the definition of “premium” to include (1) a driving record report fee and (2) an 
accident history report fee. 

 
Effective Date: October 1, 2014 
 
SENATE BILL 490 (Chapter 174) – Limited Lines Insurance Licenses – Self-Service 
Storage Producers 
 

• Authorizes the Insurance Commissioner to issue a self-service storage producer limited 
lines license to an owner or operator of a self-service storage facility and certain 
individuals who meet specified requirements.   
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• Authorizes the licensee to offer or sell personal property insurance only in connection 
with the rental of storage space at a self-service storage facility. 
 

• Requires an owner of a self-service storage facility be licensed as either a self-service 
storage producer or producer with the property and casualty lines of authority in order to 
offer or sell self-service storage insurance to customers leasing storage units.  
 

• Requires the licensee to make readily available to prospective occupants brochures or 
written materials that: (1) summarize the coverage offered, including the name of the 
insurer underwriting the coverage, the price, benefits, deductibles, exclusions, and 
conditions; (2) disclose that the coverage may be comparable to coverage already 
provided by an occupant’s homeowner’s, renter’s, vehicle, watercraft or other type of 
property coverage; (3) state whether the coverage offered would make the coverage 
primary to any other coverage, including duplicative coverage; (4) provide information 
regarding the process for filing a claim; (5) provide the contact information for filing a 
complaint with the Maryland Insurance Administration; and (6) include language that 
informs the occupant that it is not necessary to purchase insurance coverage as a 
condition to renting a unit with self-service storage facility if the occupant provides 
evidence of existing coverage. 
 

• Permits only an authorized insurer to provide self-service storage insurance offered 
through a self-service storage facility. 
 

• Requires as a condition of the sale that the self-service storage producer have the 
occupant purchasing coverage execute a document acknowledging the amount of 
coverage purchased; and if the occupant has contents in the leased space of value greater 
than the coverage under the policy, advise the occupant in writing to contact a licensed 
property and casualty insurance producer to obtain additional coverage.  
 

• Requires employees or authorized representatives of a self-service storage facility acting 
on behalf of and under the supervision of the self-service storage producer to receive a 
specific training program that has been approved by the Insurance Commissioner.  The 
training program must include general information regarding homeowners, renters, 
business, and similar insurance that an occupant may have already in force and include 
information regarding the terms of the policy being offered including the price, benefits, 
deductibles, exclusions and conditions of the insurance. 

 
• Requires the self-service storage facility owner to designate a designated responsible 

producer (DRP) who must be licensed either as a self-service storage producer or a 
producer with the property and casualty lines of authority to be responsible for the acts of 
the employees or authorized representatives of the self-service storage facility.  The DRP 
is responsible for maintaining a register of the employees and authorized representatives 
who offer personal property insurance to renters of storage space on behalf of the owner 
and is responsible for the acts of the employees or authorized representatives. 
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• Authorizes the Insurance Commissioner to suspend, revoke or refuse to renew a limited 
lines self–service storage producer’s license.   
 

• Requires the MIA to track the number of complaints filed by consumers regarding 
personal property insurance offered by self-service storage producers and employees and 
authorized representatives of the self-service storage facility, and based on the complaint 
data and any other information the Insurance Commissioner determines necessary, to 
determine how and whether self-service storage producers and employees and authorized 
representatives of a self-service storage facility should be compensated.  The report of the 
Insurance Commissioner’s findings and recommendations is due to certain committees of 
the General Assembly by January 1, 2017. 

 
Effective Date: July 1, 2014 
 
SENATE BILL 977 (Chapter 364) – Property and Casualty Insurance – Notices – Use of 
First-Class Mail Tracking Methods 
 

• Defines "first class mail tracking method” as a mail tracking method that provides 
evidence of the date that a piece of first-class mail was accepted for mailing by the 
United States Postal Service (USPS).  This definition includes a certificate of mail and an 
electronic mail tracking system used by the USPS, but it does not include a certificate of 
bulk mailing. 
 

• Alters the manner in which certain insurers are required to notify an insured of the 
rescission, cancellation, nonrenewal, or termination of an insurance policy or binder for 
specified property or casualty insurance. 
 

• Alters the manner in which an insurer of a private passenger motor vehicle, excluding the 
Maryland Automobile Insurance Fund, is required to notify an insured of a premium 
increase.  
 

• Alters the manner in which an insurer is required to provide notice to: (1) applicants and 
insureds of the offer of coverage for loss caused by water that backs up through sewers or 
drains; (2) applicants of certain information about flood insurance; (3) applicants of a 
certain statement of optional coverages; and (4) insureds of certain notices concerning 
portable electronics insurance.   

 
Effective Date: October 1, 2014 
 
OTHER 
 
HOUSE BILL 798 (Chapter 330) /SENATE BILL 701 (Chapter 329) – Education – 
Children With Disabilities – Habilitative Services Information  
 

• Require each local school system to provide to parents or guardians of a child with a 
disability verbal and written information about access to habilitative services, 
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including a copy of the Maryland Insurance Administration’s Parents’ Guide to 
Habilitative Services, at the following specified times: (1) during the transition 
meeting for a child moving from the Maryland Infants and Toddlers Program to a 
local school system; (2) during a child’s initial individualized education program 
(IEP) meeting; (3) at least one time each year at a child’s IEP meeting; and (4) on the 
approval or denial of a parent’s or guardian’s request for a related service to enable a 
child with a disability to benefit from special education.  

 
Effective Date: July 1, 2014 
 
HOUSE BILL 1082 (Chapter 351) /SENATE BILL 881 (Chapter 350) – Title Insurers – 
Statutory or Unearned Premium Reserves 
 

• Define “risk premium” for the purposes of § 5-206 of the Insurance Article to mean the 
amount charged for an assumption of risk.  A “risk premium” includes title insurance 
producer commissions.  It does not include charges for services rendered in the 
preparation of documents, searching, underwriting, recording of documents, or closing of 
a risk. 
 

• Permit a title insurer domiciled in the State that is required to maintain minimum 
statutory reserves or unearned premium reserves of at least 8% of the title insurance risk 
premiums written per calendar year for the retained liability for title insurance contracts, 
during each of the 20 years following the year in which a title contract is issued, to reduce 
the reserves applicable in equal 12 month installments in accordance with a specified 
formula. 
 

• Require each title insurer to file with its required annual statement a certification by a 
member in good standing of the Casualty Actuarial Society, or by a member in good 
standing of the American Academy of Actuaries who has been approved by the Casualty 
Practice Council of the American Academy of Actuaries, as to the adequacy of the title 
insurer’s reserves. 
 

• Provide that the act to be applied retroactively to affect title insurance contracts in effect 
on June 1, 2014. 

 
Effective Date: June 1, 2014  
 
SENATE BILL 97 (Chapter 24) – Insurance – Public Adjusters – Prohibited Inducements  
 

• Prohibits any person from offering or providing any valuable consideration to an insured 
as an inducement to utilize the services of a public adjuster.  
 

Effective Date: October 1, 2014 
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SENATE BILL 99 (Chapter 26) –Insurance – Fraud Violations – Civil and Criminal 
Actions  
 

• Expands the basis for establishing jurisdiction and venue in criminal and administrative 
actions for acts of insurance fraud violations to include: (1) the county in which an 
element of the insurance fraud was committed; (2) where the purported insured loss 
occurred; (3) the county in which the insurance policy in question provides coverage; (4) 
the county in which the insurer or an agent of the insurer received a false or misleading 
statement or document; (5) the county in which the defendant or respondent resides; or 
(6) the county in which money or other benefit was received as a result of the insurance 
fraud.  
 

Effective Date: October 1, 2014 
 
SENATE BILL 479 (Chapter 172) – Chesapeake Employers' Insurance Company – Board 
Structure  
 

• Requires, to the extent practicable, that board membership of Chesapeake reflect the 
geographic and demographic, including race and gender, diversity of the State.  

 
• Requires that of the nine members of the board: (1) at least two members must have 

substantial experience as officers or employees of an insurer, but they may not be 
employed by an insurer that is in direct competition with Chesapeake while serving on 
the board; (2) at least two members must be policyholders of Chesapeake; (3) at least one 
member must have significant experience in the investment business; (4) at least one 
member must have significant experience in the accounting or auditing field; and (5) at 
least one member must have significant experience as a representative, employee, or 
member of a labor union. 
 

Effective Date: October 1, 2014 
 
SENATE BILL 886 (Chapter 354) – Legal Mutual Liability Insurance Society of Maryland 
– Conservatorship and Transfer  
 

• Provides for winding up the affairs of the Legal Mutual Liability Insurance Society of 
Maryland (Society) by appointing Minnesota Mutual as conservator of the Society to 
oversee the transfer of the Society’s remaining assets and liabilities under policies issued 
by the Society to the Property and Casualty Insurance Guaranty Corporation (Guaranty 
Corporation). 

 
• Provides that during the conservatorship, Minnesota Mutual must report at least once 

every three months to the Insurance Commissioner on the status and progress of the 
conservatorship and the preparation for transfer of any remaining policies, assets of the 
Society, and liabilities under policies issued by the Society to the Guaranty Corporation. 
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• Provides that on or before January 1, 2015, Minnesota Mutual must report to the 
Insurance Commissioner, the Guaranty Corporation, the Senate Finance Committee, and 
the House Economic Matters Committee on the status of the conservatorship of the 
Society, the winding up of its affairs, and the progress of the transfer of its policies, 
assets, and liabilities to the Guaranty Corporation. 
 

• Provides that before the earlier of January 1, 2016, or before the termination date of the 
conservatorship, all net remaining assets of the Society and liabilities under policies 
issued by the Society must be transferred to the Guaranty Corporation. 
 

• Provides that §§ 24-101 through 24-110, and the subtitle “Subtitle 1. Legal Mutual 
Liability Insurance Society of Maryland” of the Insurance Article will be repealed 
effective January 1, 2016.  
 

Effective Date: July 1, 2014  
 

SENATE BILL 999 (Chapter 366) – Insurance – Reinsurance – Certification of Reinsurers 
 

• Provides that the Insurance Commissioner shall consider the list of conditionally 
qualified and qualified jurisdictions published through the National Association of 
Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) committee process when determining the qualified 
jurisdictions in the State under which an assuming insurer, licensed and domiciled in the 
jurisdiction, is eligible to be considered for certification as a reinsurer in the State. 
 

• Requires the Insurance Commissioner, in determining whether a jurisdiction is a qualified 
jurisdiction, to consider the list of NAIC conditionally qualified and qualified 
jurisdictions: (1) when the jurisdiction has been evaluated for inclusion on the list and (2) 
whenever the list is amended. 
 

• Authorizes the Insurance Commissioner to use information provided by the NAIC 
committee process, if an applicant for certification has been certified as a reinsurer by the 
insurance regulatory agency of a state accredited by NAIC, to: (1) designate the assuming 
insurer as a certified reinsurer in the State and/or (2) assign a rating to the assuming 
insurer. 
 

Effective Date: June 1, 2014  
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